About IMA
Meeting Organization
Important Dates
General Information
Scientific Program
Social Program
Call for Abstracts
Field Excursions
Optional Tours
Contact Us
  About IMA  
The International Mineralogical Association (IMA) was established in 1958 as a non-profit organisation. The mission of the Association is to further international co-operation in the mineralogical sciences and to promote wider community awareness among international groups having Earth Science interests. Activities of IMA are regulated by its statutes. The eight commissions, five working groups and one committee of IMA are involved in a wide range of mineralogical practices of direct interest to governments, industry, and academic science.
The IMA Council meets every year in conjunction with an international meeting. Between council meetings affairs are regulated by the Executive Committee of IMA. Councillors and Officers of commissions and working groups are elected during the Business Meeting of the General Meeting, held every four years. IMA regularly provides information through reports and newsletters, to national mineralogical societies or groups which support IMA. IMA is a member of the International Union of Geological Sciences (IUGS) and maintains regular contact with some affiliates.
The IMA is the only truly international organisation promoting mineralogy, one of the oldest branches of science. Today it plays a vital role in human welfare, underpinning metalliferous mining, exploitation of industrial minerals, petroleum exploration and extraction, waste disposal, the remediation of pollution, and soil science. Mineral surfaces stand at the interface between the atmosphere, the biosphere, and the solid Earth. They are crucial to the understanding of climate and global change.
Mineralogy is fundamental to our knowledge of the chemistry, mode of formation and age of rocks, including extraterrestrial materials which give us clues about the origin of the Solar System and the likelihood of life on other planets. Experimental mineralogy, which strongly overlaps with materials science, allows us to deduce the nature of the deepest, most inaccessible, parts of the Earth.
Officers and Council of the IMA
President Ian Parsons, Univ. of Edinburgh, Edinburgh, UK
Past-President Anthony Naldrett, Surry, UK
1st Vice-President Takamitsu Yamanaka, Osaka Univ., Osaka, Japan
2nd Vice-President Nicolai P. Yushkin, Komi Sci. Center, Syktyvkar, Russia
Secretary Maryse Ohnenstetter, CNRS-CRPG, Nancy, France
Treasurer Cornelis Klein, Univ. of New Mexico, Albuquerque, USA
Councillors Alain Baronnet, CRMC2 - CNRS, Case, France
  Ian H. Campbell, ANU, Canberra, Australia
  Werner Schreyer, Ruhr-Univ. Bochum, Bochum, Germany
  Kari K.R. Kojonen, Geol. Survey of Finland, Finland
  Marcello Mellini, Univ. di Siena, Siena, Italy
Top page