Rising Star Awards 2021  


Dr. Michael J Simmonds

Menzies Health Institute Queensland & Griffith University, Australia

Dr. Shinichi Goto

Brigham and Women's Hospital & Harvard Medical School, USA

Dr. Naoki Takeishi

Department of Mechanical Science and Bioengineering, Osaka University, Japan


The Solidarity of European Society for Clinical Hemorheology and Microcirculation (ESCHM), International Society for Clinical Hemorheology (ISCH) and International Society of Biorheology (ISB) invites nominations of outstanding investigators for Rising Star Awards. The competition of this prestigious Award is a highlight of the 2nd Joint Meeting (online) of ESCHM-ISCH-ISB 2021, Japan.

Purpose of the Rising Star Award

The Rising Star Award will be presented to an outstanding mid-career investigator who is making major and independent contributions to the advancement of clinical hemorheology, biorheology and microcirculation and playing a significant scientific role in these fields. The main criteria for selecting awardees are scientific excellence, independence, and potential for future research contributions. Thus, the Rising Star Award targets investigators in the intermediate phase of an established academic career (conditions of faculty position of assistant or associate professor and age of 45 years or less). Such conditions differ obviously from the criteria of Poiseuille Award, Fåhraeus Award and ISCH Award. Because these three Awards target investigators at an advanced stage of an established academic career (full professor, professor emeritus or the equivalent stage).

Nature of the Prize

The Rising Star Award is presented at the online Joint Meeting of ESCHM-ISCH-ISB. The candidates of award have to attend the live streaming award competition program of this online meeting, and awardees will receive a $1,000 honorarium and a plaque. The results of competition will be announced on the Joint Meeting website (

Procedure for Nomination and Selection


Nominations for the Rising Star Award will be sought by the Presidents of the three societies.


Nominations will be evaluated by a multidisciplinary Selection Committee. The Selection Committee will include the Presidents of three societies and the International Program Committee members.


Members of the Selection Committee will declare any conflict of interest (or close relationship with any candidate) and the voting mechanism will be adjusted accordingly.


Members of the Selection Committee will not be eligible for consideration for the Rising Star Award while serving on the Committee.


The candidates will present a major lecture in the live session of the Rising Star Award competition.


The Secretary General and Treasurer will keep a full and permanent record of nominations, competition, voting and results of the scheme.


Nominations (one per person) must include the following materials, with all documents submitted electronically as a single PDF:

- A letter confirming the nominee’s commitment to attend the joint meeting and describing the nominee’s research achievements.
- Nominee’s current curriculum vitae containing a bibliography.
- A list of the candidate’s top 3 publications with web links.


Nominations should be sent to the followings:

  Dr. Peter Butler, E mail:
Dr. Herbert Lipowsky, E mail:
Dr. Brian Cooke, E mail:
Dr. Jean-Frédéric Brun E mail:
Dr. Toru Maruyama, E mail:

The deadline for receipt of nominations for the Rising Star Award is May 1st, 2021. This Award will be given at the 2nd Joint Meeting of ESCHM-ISCH-ISB 2021 (online) in July 4-7.

  page top